老化的危险: 神话关于辅助生活

0
232
Myths About Assisted Living

衰老是不是给胆小鬼. 当我们变老, 我们的身体发展的问题和我们的脑海中可能会受到影响. 我们可以继续独立生活? 要么, 做我们想要住在高级住宅,提供所需要的服务,同时使我们能够跟上我们的生活方式和独立性? 辅助生活设施不养老院或医院的老人. 他们生活谁需要一些服务,但要尽可能多独立尽可能老年人空间. 他们尽量独立生活,需要养老院或护理内存之间的折中.

 

什么辅助生活其实之间的差异是与人认为它是什么

大约有不同类型的高级生活设施的神话和误解. 了解哪些保健设施的每个级别提供,并知道保健服务的水平有什么重要的是你或你的家庭成员的需求.

  • 护理的第一个层次是在家庭服务,允许高级家属在自己家中独立生活. 身体条件和心理的挑战将确定有多少帮助是需要的,如果独立生活是一种选择. 家庭医生可以帮助确定什么级别的服务是适合每个人.
  • 需要的时候, 辅助护理中心 或辅助生活社区可能是正确的解决方案. 这些设施为居民提供了一个个人的公寓空间. 他们提供的服务,如医疗保健专业, 个人护理, 娱乐活动. 将有一个社区食堂, 家政服务, 运输帮助, 和更多.
  • 内存护理或监护护理是护理谁拥有的认知问题,如痴呆老人一个新的水平, 阿尔茨海默氏症, 帕金森氏, 或亨廷顿. 这种护理的养老院,可以给24小时的个人护理给出. 这些设施有单间和居民共享的房间,并可能有安全,以确保居民迷了路.

 

还有一些神话关于辅助生活设施.

  • 辅助生活设施提供24小时, 现场许可的护士和工作人员. 每个设施都不同,提供不同级别的服务. 询问这个注册住在那里前. 谁需要一个许可的护士24小时服务的人可能需要不同类型的生活安排. 不需要大多数辅助生活设施,对现场的护士. 辅助生活设施在许多大小和与所提供的不同功能,不同层次的服务塑造. 有辅助生活设施,提供不同级别的服务作为一个人的年龄.
  • 辅助生活设施带走你的独立性. 选择符合您的需要照顾和偏爱独立设施. 他们鼓励独立生活,只要居民是安全的. 你在你的生活空间的控制, 你装饰它, 它仍然被锁定你.
  • 辅助生活设施花费过多或由医疗保险或医疗保险的支付. 起步价低至 $1,500 对于基本医疗服务的选择. 新增护理意味着更多的成本. 但是,这是堪比大多数住房成本. 医疗保险和医疗保险不支付长期生活辅助.
  • 你必须放弃你的车. 这不是真的. 如果你有一个安全的车辆, 一个有效的驾驶执照, 并能安全地操作车辆可以继续驾驶.

选择一个辅助生活设施,满足您的预算和需求. 采访设施代表询问有关的一些重要服务的问题. 然后享受您的新家.

发表评论

请输入您的评论!
请在此输入你的名字

The Perils of Aging: Myths About Assisted Living

0
228
Myths About Assisted Living

Aging is not for wimps. As we get older, our bodies develop issues and our minds may suffer. Can we continue to live independently? Or, do we want to live in senior housing that offers needed services while allowing us to keep up our lifestyle and independence? Assisted living facilities are not nursing homes or hospitals for the elderly. They are living spaces for seniors who need some services but want as much independence as possible. They try to be a happy medium between living independently and needing nursing homes or memory care.

 

The Difference Between What Assisted Living Actually Is and What People Think It Is

There are myths and misconceptions about the different types of senior living facilities. It is important to understand what each level of care facility offers and to know what level of care and services you or a family member needs.

  • The first level of care is in-home services allowing the senior family member to live independently in their own home. Physical condition and mental challenges will determine how much help is needed and if living independently is an option. The family doctor may help determine what level of service is right for each person.
  • When needed, assisted care centers or assisted living communities may be the right solution. These facilities offer a personal apartment space for residents. They offer services such as professional healthcare, personal care, and recreational activities. There will be a community dining room, housekeeping services, transportation help, and more.
  • Memory care or custodial care is the next level of care for seniors who have cognitive issues such as dementia, Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, or Huntington’s. This care is given in a nursing home that can give 24-hour personal care. These facilities have single rooms and shared rooms for residents and may have security to keep residents from wandering off.

 

There Are Some Myths About Assisted Living Facilities.

  • Assisted living facilities offer 24-hour, on-site licensed nurses and staffing. Each facility is different and offers a different level of service. Ask about this before signing up to live there. People who need 24-hour services of a licensed nurse may need a different type of living arrangement. Most assisted living facilities are not required to have nurses on site. Assisted living facilities come in many sizes and shapes with different features and different levels of services offered. There are assisted living facilities that offer different levels of service as a person ages.
  • Assisted living facilities to take away your independence. You choose the facility that matches your needs for care and preference for independence. They encourage independent living as long as the resident is safe. You are in control of your living space, you decorate it, and it remains locked by you.
  • Assisted living facilities to cost too much or are paid for by Medicare or health insurance. Pricing starts as low as $1,500 for basic care options. Added care means more costs. But this is comparable to most housing costs. Medicare and health insurance do not pay for long-term assisted living.
  • You must give up your car. This is not true. If you have a safe vehicle, a valid driver’s license, and can safely operate a vehicle you can continue to drive.

Choose an assisted living facility that meets your budget and needs. Interview the facility representative to ask questions about the services that are important. Then enjoy your new home.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here